Sanskrit or Samskrita..

Hi friends,

Today I thought I create a new category called Sanskrit so that I can put my favourite Sanskrit Subhaashita’s there. But before that as a foundation I am putting a small note on my favourite Language Sanskrit. 

 My love for sanskrit started in early child hood when my Chikkamma (Aunt) started teaching me sanskrit subhaashitaas. Like ‘vidyaa dadaati vinayam…’ I did not start from learning svara, vyanjana of sanskrit.. direct subhaashitaas. That might be the reason why I learnt it with so much interest. My aunt Jamunakka as I call her is a rank holder in Sanskrit M.A. from Mysore University. She is the one who has given me a sound foundation of Sanskrit. I liked the language so much I was writing letters to her in Sanskrit during my high school days. And she was so proud of that. All languages are good and special in their own way. To feel that we have to learn the language. So to cherish sanskrit you better learn it.  So with this small note let me write a preface to my new Category Sanskrit.

Samskrita means Samyak kritaha.. Samskrita.. Its a carefully crafted language. To be more clear samyak means neatly, well, good kritaha means done. So its kind of ‘ Well Done’

Samskrita is considered as mother of all languages. Most of the time I keep on comparing the words in Hindi – English – Sanskrit and Kannand and find so many similarities to Sanskrit Words. Thus I very much agree that Sanskrit is the base language.

Also in Hindu Mythology we believe Sanskrit is the language spoken by Gods.

There is a saying ‘Bhaashaasu mukhyaa madhuraa divyaa geervaana bhaarati’  means among all languages Sanskrit is most important, sweet and devine.

And I feel Sanskrit Language is very much logical.  Not like english.. it reminds me of some song where in the Actor asks if Nut is spelled as NUT.. why Put is spelled as PUT.. no logic in spellings.. anyway keeping that aside… let me end this post here.. I will be back with more on Sanskrit and some interesting sayings and Quotes from sanskrit.

3 comments on “Sanskrit or Samskrita..

  1. AK Sharma says:

    Love Dear Bindu,

    I have just stumbled upon your blog. You have used two words for sanskrit for one and other is Samskrita. I wonder why you have noy sspelled it as SAMSKRUTA”.

    Dear Bindu i have studied sanskrit upto 12th standard. But could learn it by cramming as is the normal practice.

    I was not aware of using the ANUSWAAR till much later in life. Once I attended Hindi usage training programme as part of official language. The faculty explained the use of ANUSWAAR and chnages happen in sound with usge of consonant suffixing it.

    Hindi syllables are groulped generally as ‘K’avarg ‘Ch’avarg ‘T’avarg, ‘Th’avarg….. with five syllables in each group. The last syllable of each group are ‘ng, ‘nj’ ‘n’ and ‘m’. the sound of ANUSWAAR depends on the syllable of the group suffuxed to Anuswaar. Like Kank is pronounced as Kangk, not as kamk, Panch (ch in Chavarg) is prronounced as Panjch not as Pangch or Pamch. Dand is pronounced as Dand (d in Tavarg)not as Damd or Dangd or Danjd(Here n is pronounced as in pecucliar sound very near sound not available in English other than N, Khamb (Pillar) is pronounced as Kamb (B in Pavarg. Yes are certain exception also. as happens always. This shows the Sanskrit is phonetically also very advanced language without phonetic complications like those in innumorous Chinese dilects.

    Like

  2. Bindu says:

    Dear Mr.Sharma, Thanks for the detailed info. I spelled Samskrita.. just like we write Krishna.. I dont write it as KRUSHNA.. Well if I need to be very accurate then I believe there is a different method used to write Sanskrit words in english, for eg. you need to put a dot above R in SAMSKRITA.. etc.. I am not recollecting the exact word for that kind of denotation. Yes you are very much right that sanskrit is a very advanced language.

    Like

  3. rahul says:

    namo namah binduvarye
    mangalam bhavatu
    abhinandanam

    I am happy to have reached your web-page.
    I am still learning and just considering wether kaumidi or laghu would teach me – so my qualifications are zero compared to your vast knowledge. You have been lucky to have Chikkamma (Aunt) and aunt Jamunakka.

    However, I could not resist writing my comments after reading the posting of Sri AKSharma.

    naasikaa and anunaasikaa are distinctly different sounds. The last letter (vyanjana) at the end of each of varga-line is a naasikaa akshara.
    anunaasikaa is a svara (purely nasal without touching lips or tongue – sparsha – as in vyanjana)

    Same is also true of the svara R^i or Ru (Itrans or baraha code).

    When one uses the roman script to write devanaagarii based bhaashaa, problems do arise about how to write certain words – krishna or kR^iShNa or kRuShNa or…

    vardhayatu sarvadaa
    bhavadiiyaH
    raahula

    Like

Leave a Reply

